5 Guiding Life Principles for Self-Improvement

Those who walk with God always reach their destination.  Henry Ford

Of all the women that I have ever read about,  the one that inspires me most is in the book of Proverbs.  I was introduced to her a little over ten years ago and remember the moment very well.  It was during a monthly meetup that a group of about thirty women and I came together to talk about the character of a virtuous woman. The twenty verses in this passage is a perfect place to start if you are working on self-improvement. There is much to glean from her example. I have made a list of the top five lessons from her life that have helped me grow the most.

  1. God First Lifestyle
  2. Wifely Wisdom
  3. Responsible Parenting
  4. Good Stewardship
  5. Selfless Giving

The Proverb 31 woman’s lifestyle is certainly an appropriate place of study for any woman with a desire to grow spiritually. As we mature, it is good to use her as a model. Just as the famous quote reads, If you can see it and believe it, you can achieve it.  This woman is not given a name because she is really a combination of many that we have come in contact with today. If you think about it, there is probably several women who come to mind that you know personally who is like the model in this chapter. That is the point! To get an image of the woman that you hope to become so that it becomes tangible to you. Talk with her. Ask her how she does it and figure out how to make the ideals, practices, and paradigms that you most admire your own.

As a wife, mother, entrepreneur and ministry worker, I can relate to the many roles of her life. After reading this passage more times than I can count, what intrigues me still, is how well she manages the details of her days without losing her self and giving up. This makes me a huge fan of the Proverb 31 woman because she sets the blueprint for us to follow. I continue to study her character while strengthening both faith and focus in my life.

So my hope is that you will have the opportunity to read about this phenomenal woman. If you have, what insights have you learned along the way? What other women do you consider awesome role models for the women of today?

3 thoughts on “5 Guiding Life Principles for Self-Improvement

  1. My Life Group just completed a study on the Proverbs 31 Woman. I think that we all want to be part of a family where we give and receive love. Proverbs 31 tells us how to make that possible. I felt it was a wonderful portrait of a wife and mother–a standard of excellence, not only for women, but for every member of every family. In the life of this woman, we can discover several ways to love our family.

    Rachel recently posted The 16 Habits of Highly Unsuccessful Women

  2. I’ve heard this story many times, but didn’t know which Proverb it came from. Thank you for sharing your reflections on it and tips on how to become more like the woman we want to be 🙂

  3. Pingback: THYE WOMAN OF VALOR IN PROVERBS 31! | LOVE UNCONDITIONAL

Leave a comment