How to Shift Your Mindset About Service and Share What You Have to Offer

helpinghandHave you ever been compelled to think more selflessly and use your abilities for the good of others? To develop a spirit of service, consider the following practices.

  1. Get rid of hesitation and self-doubt.
  2. Surround yourself with servant leaders.
  3. Reprogram your automatic response.

When it comes to giving more of your service you may come up with every excuse in the book. The reason this happens for many people is they don’t want to leave their comfort zone. You have probably had this experience at some point in your life, too, but here is what you should know. You are not alive to simply exist, take up space, or waste a lifetime. Someone is waiting on you to be a doer, not just a dreamer. So as you get calls from friends or requests to volunteer, step up. The more you exercise your service muscle, the more natural it will be to you.

There is a quote I like that reminds me of the power of association. It says that you are a reflection of the people you surround yourself with. In other words you pick up the traits, sayings, and habits of those you are closest to. It is how you learn most things including the belief that being of service is an important part of life.

I am a big advocate of mentor relationships. So much so that I started a program called Encourage U for single moms in their mid twenties to early thirties. The goal is to provide leadership development and life skills. When you serve as a role model, it help others accelerate their growth by demonstrating standards to imitate. The more a mentee sees you in action, the more receptive their mind becomes to service as a way of life.

When you take an active role and offer your time, talent, and resources it enhance others’ lives. Your eyes, hands, feet, and voice can be used for the good of others. That is why it is important to contribute from a willing heart. When you do, the act of service becomes your reward.

Are your service antennas up? Do you actively look for ways to lend a hand and help in your home, workplace, community, the world? I’d love to hear what you do. Tell me about it.

6 thoughts on “How to Shift Your Mindset About Service and Share What You Have to Offer

  1. I am currently feeling called to meditate on “He who saves his life will lose it” Losing my life for Christ must surely involve service.

  2. I am a wife and mother of four children. My life is service to my family. As a result, I am teaching good habits and proper behavior that will live on past my life. I think it is important to recognize the importance of service in the home, just as we recognie the importance of service outside the home.

  3. I love this post. You have listed some key points on how to help and serve others in all that you do. Speaking of, that is exactly what I do! In my business, I offer creative services to business owners and organizations who are looking to creatively build their brand. Nothing makes me more happier than to see someone actively build their vision and make it happen. I also love the fact that I get to help and guide them to find the very path to what they seek for their business or organization. Mentoring is key for I am a product of productive mentoring and I make it a point to never turn down a question or someone reaching out for my advice.

    To follow more of what I do or even request more info about what creative services I offer visit http://www.facebook.com/msdominiquehart or follow me on twitter @msdominiquehart

    Awesome post! Very important for many people to know or be reminded of. I will be sharing 😉

Leave a comment